Time or clock?

From a cultural perspective, time is a very interesting phenomenon. Because it depends in which culture and where you’ve been raised how you live with time.

“You’ve got the clock, we’ve got time”

Is an african saying. And like most sayings there’s some truth in that.

In most cities in Europe you’ve got clock- or bell towers (mostly in church towers) with a clock to show the time and a bell to ring every hour. 
For ages -since the clock was invented- people who lived in cities have a routine based on the clock.

In my family that was; wake up at 7, work starts at 9, coffee break at 11, lunch 12.30, tea break 15.00, 17.00 home, 18.00 diner, 20.00 coffee, 22.00 nightcap, 23.00 bedtime.

Mealtimes and sleep were more regulated by the clock then by hunger or fatigue. 
Even without a clock this routine is in my system.
I’ve got most energy to work in the morning, by 18.00 I’m starving and at 23.00hr. my personal light goes off.

With a clock divided in 12 hours and everywhere available people can be very effective using time in every hour. You can plan a task, how long does a task take and what can you do with the rest of the time. Or how long does it take to get somewhere and be in time for an appointment. Sometimes it is literally a race against the clock, to make all those plans and routines work.
In some cultural groups there might be -a not official- rule to be a fashionable late with 15-30 minutes, but that is still based on time.

The battery of my watch stopped. (and at the moment I haven’t got the time and energy to find out, if, where and how to replace watch-batteries here in Qatar, Middle East) 
As an independent/freelancer I’m not dictated by the regulated times of an office or school. working home here I find that I’m more depending on the call for prayer. I’ve got my lunch around midday prayer and start diner around 17.00. In the meantime I eat and drink when I’m hungry or thirsty.

Looking around me, I can tell people have a different routine, more regulated by the call for prayer, because you don’t insult someone by leaving for the reason of prayer. People here plan their days more between those prayer times.
I can also see that in these regions -close to the equator- the daily routine is based on the sun. the day starts at dawn before the sunrise, when it’s not so hot because of the sun, Have food and a rest during the hottest hours of the day and live starts up again when the sun sets.

There is definitely a logic in planning the days duties and daily routine everywhere in the world, it might depend on the possibilities of money and/or resources what and how much you can plan.
In cultures where they live by the clock/hour the routines are planned very effectively.
Still, I’m still considered ‘lazy’ as I stop at 17.00hr when I think my tasks are done. Me on my turn had to get used to people sleeping and shops and services closed during daytime and have to get out after diner to do my shopping or …. to get my watch fixed.IFGAblogperson

Leave a Reply

