What is the information-bubble?

The international Feelgood Academy aims to raise more understanding and acceptance between people so we can enjoy our differences rather then be afraid and exclude each other.
In the first blog of 2017 I already ventilated my concerns about the information-bubble we get in with the internet and social media.

Every person has a figuratively bubble around him/her. It protects the person to what he/she can handle at that moment; A personal boundery. 
The information bubble will enclose people in a bubble of ‘wanted’ information and will protects/prevents a person from unwanted information; Not only from unwanted information but also protects and discloses from new information or different information, the kind of information which helps to get new innovative ideas, different insights and a diverse and wide look on people and situations.

filter-bubble-over-personalised-internet-behrouz-jafarnezhad

Internet companies have developped all kind of programs to find out what we might be interested in or not and that’s the kind of information they provide us with.
But people are unique; What people are interested in -or can handle-, depends on many, many MANY different aspects; personality, background, religion, culture, where, when, the situation and timing. No algorithm program can ever know al these aspects which influence our bubble and how open we are for other/new information and when.
For example When I’m tired or had a hard day, I like to read about good people who save puppies but after a good coffee, in the morning, I would be more interested to know how Chinese people eat dog and why.
I will start looking for this information myself as I’m interested but when you’re locked up in your information bubble you won’t even get the idea that eating dogs might be a solution for hunger.
I absolutly won’t feel comfortable with the information, as I love dogs and I’am convinced they are (wo)mens best friends, But the information would make me think and maybe raise some understanding for the situation of hunger and the availibility of dogs.
I won’t agree but I won’t convict either a whole race for eating dogs.

Now the controversial thing is that the information of people eating dogs, doesn’t make me feel good, feel good at all. So I should be happy with the information I get which confirms my opinion of normal, good and bad. And be happy I don’t get information I don’t like, things I would rather not know. 
But in the end…..it doesn’t make me feel good not to know and stay ingnorant about what’s going on in the world and being overwhelmed and surprised what is actully happening in the world.

I can stay in my bubble -just like other people who think the same-, and be angry about things happening which I think are not normal and good. Though that doesn’t give me peace in myself or with others, because I’m being angry in my little bubble and only get more information that feeds my anger. 
I need the possibility to understand what is happening, even if it takes a long time, to understand and accept the situation. 
I want to know what I can do -or don’t-, so I don’t feel so powerless and more in peace with myself and the others and that’s what makes people feel good, being in peace with yourself and the world around you.

IFGAblogperson
I want to thank mr Eli Pariser, for providing us with the term ‘Information Bubble’, the term helps to visualise and understand this difficult matter.

Leave a Reply

