Coffee

Coffee

One of the best moments of my day is the first cup of coffee, drank in peace, just before the hussle of the day starts. The stilmulating coffaine in my blood makes me ready to face the new day, the warm comforting liquid makes it easy to say goodbye to the warmth and unconsiousness of the sleep. 
At that moment I preffer ‘filter coffee’, not that strong that my stomach get’s a shock.
Later on the morning I need the stimulating effect of an espresso, or the sugar shock from a skinny-caramel-white chocolate-latte machiatto.
In the late afternoon I like a strong espresso coffee for It’s appetite suppressants, to still my sugar cravings.
The word coffee might come from the word ‘quwwah’ (meaning ‘strength’) There are a lot of theories where the word might come from but I like this one best as it fits me the best.

The way coffee is been drunken is very depending on the culture and traditions.
In the Netherlands people used to drink coffee at 11.00 a.m., the coffee break, and 8.00 p.m. and always two cups (“one can’t live on one leg”). In Italy I saw people in the morning having a shot esspresso while standing. I France cafe au lait with a croissant. In England instant coffee with milk. In America on the go. In Qatar the show of hospitality in desert tents and with a lot of sugar.

As coffee has become so common lots of the traditions around the making, serving and drinking coffee have been lost.
In the Netherlands, nowadays, people do drink coffee all day and the typical coffee break or gathering of family at 8 p.m. for coffee is past. Of coarse that saves time you can be ‘productive’ but it also tells that ‘productivity’ is been preffered above some socializing and human contact.

Leave a Reply

